Missouri Has Its Own Specific Work Comp Benefits
Missouri benefits include:
Medical care to treat the injury: This benefit includes all costs for authorized medical treatment and testing, prescriptions and medical devices. There are no deductibles or co-pays. However, the employer or its workers’ compensation insurance company has the right to choose the medical provider. In most situations, the employer and its insurance company are not required to pay for treatment the employee seeks without their authorization.
Payments for lost wages: You may be eligible for a weekly check until the doctor says you are able to return to any form of work and not merely the job you were doing at the time of the accident. You may also be eligible for benefits if you return to work on light duty at less than full pay. There is a three-day waiting period to receive these benefits, but this waiting period is paid if you end up being off work for more than 14 days. The amount of these checks is normally 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wages not to exceed a maximum set by state law depending on the date of your accident.
Lump-sum settlement or award for permanent disability: If a workplace injury has caused a permanent partial disability, you may be entitled to a lump-sum payment to compensate you for your loss. The amount of compensation is based on the nature of your injury, your average weekly wage and the percentage of disability. I do not rely on the opinion of the employer’s doctor concerning your disability. Instead, I obtain a second opinion from an independent doctor. This usually results in significantly greater settlements or awards for my clients.
Total disability: If you are totally disabled as a result of your work injury alone or in combination with other prior work-related or military disabilities, you may be entitled to a weekly check for life.
Second injury fund: If you had a pre-existing work-related or military disability before you were injured at work, you may be eligible to receive additional compensation from the Missouri Second Injury Fund based on the combined effects of the injuries. Certain requirements relating to the current injury and prior disability must be met to qualify for this benefit.
Death benefits: If the work injury or disease results in death, the worker’s dependents may be entitled to a weekly check. The benefit is split equally between a surviving spouse and minor dependent children. A spouse is entitled to receive these benefits until death or remarriage. Minor children normally receive the benefit until age 18 but can be extended for a longer period under certain circumstances.
Free Consultation With A Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
Missouri workers’ compensation benefits can also include a death benefit, medical mileage and certain other benefits, depending on the specifics of your case. To learn what you may be eligible to receive, please contact me, attorney Tim Alvarez. I offer a free consultation and case evaluation. I have been representing injured workers in the Kansas City metropolitan area and throughout Kansas and Missouri for more than 30 years. Call 913-371-1030.
The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements. This disclosure is required by rule of the Supreme Court of Missouri.